5:28 pm : 17.Feb.2019
Waheguru Icon

English Site 




English Site 

Punjab, Haryana and Maharashtra women win Hockey competitions of 35th National Games

National Games Keralaby Balbir Singh

Kerala, February 2, 2015-

Punjab overcame Jharkhand by 2-1 while Maharashtra blanked Uttar Pradesh by 3-0 in the hockey competitions of the 35th National Games at the New Hockey Stadium, Kollam here today.


Haryana women outplassed Karnataka 9-2 and Odisha defeated hosts Kerala by 3-0.


In the first match of the day, Jharkhand women scored the opening goal against Punjab as early as in the 16th minute into the game when Etwari converted a penalty corner. In the second half, Punjab made a comeback with a field goal when Anuradha Thokchom made no mistake in finding the nets in the 36th minute and helping her team level the score. Realising that they had an edge on the situation, Punjab maintained the pressure on Jharkhand and in the 48th minute Punjab through Reena Rani converted a penalty corner. The goal helped Punjab win the match by 2-1.


The second game saw absolute dominance of Maharashtra women over Uttar Pradesh as they crushed Uttar Pradesh 3-0 to win the match. Jameela Bano scored the initial goal for Maharashtra in the dying minutes of the first half giving her side a lead of 1-0. In the second half, Vidyarthi Kavitha scored a stupendous field goal in the 53rd minute closely followed by a penalty corner goal by Rijuta Kumar in the 66th minute. With an insurmountable lead of 3-0, Maharashtra women registered a triumph over Uttar Pradesh.


The third match between Haryana and Karnataka witnessed Haryana eves thrashing Karnataka for a 9-2 win. The first goal for Haryana came in as early as in the second minute of the game from the stick of Monica Dahiya followed by another goal from her in the fifth minute, both being penalty corner conversions.


Monica Dahiya and Preeti of Haryana struck thrice to score for their team, with their efforts being soared up by Devika Sen who scored two goals and Nicky who scored one goal to give Haryana an unsurpassable lead over Karnataka. Ranjitha and Niha of Karnataka scored a goal each for their team. The final scores stood at 9-2, announcing a well deserved win for Haryana women.


The last match for the day between Odisha and Kerala saw the visiting team defeating the hosts 3-0. Nil Projitha Majhi scored the opening goal for Odisha just 2 minutes into the game. Maintaining the pressure Odisha scored their second goal when Ambika Toppo flawlessly converted a penalty corner into a goal in the 28th minute. Moully Yadav scored the third goal of the game for Odisha in the 69th minute. At the blow of the final whistle, the scoreboard showed a score of 3-0, declaring Odisha the winners of the game.


Wrestling results: Men: Freestyle: 57 kg: 1 Sandeep Tomar (SSCB), 2 Amit Kumar (Haryana), 3 Manjeet Kumar (Chandigarh) and Mayank Chaudhary (UP).


74 kg: 1 Jitender (Haryana), 2 Rajesh Kumar Bhati (UP), 3 Pardeep (West Bengal) and Ashish Kumar (Delhi.

Greco Roman - Men: 66 kg: 1 Ravinder Singh (Haryana), 2 Vasant (MP), 3 Aanand Kumar (Delhi) and Deepak Kuamar (SSCB).


85 kg: 1 Manoj Kumar (Haryana), 2 Anil (Delhi), 3 Yashpal (Jharkhand) and Ajay (SSCB).
Women: 55 kg: 1 Ritu Malik (Haryana), 2 Seema Pawar (UP), 3 Raj (Punjab) and Pushpa Vishwakarma (MP).


69 kg: 1 Suman Kundu (Haryana), 2 Manu Tomar (UP), 3 Rupali Dube (MP) and Divya Kakran (Delhi).

Last modified on

Punjabi Site 




Punjab & Around

YP Videos Gallery

Click Here For More Videos