11:13 pm : 19.Mar.2019
Waheguru Icon

 Yes Punjab

English Site 

Indian Men, Eves win 5th Kabaddi World Cup; Men beat Pak, Women beat New Zealand

5th-Kabaddi-World-Cup15th-Kabaddi-World-Cup1-2Badal (Sri Muktsar Sahib), December 20, 2014 (Yes Punjab News)

With their fifth consecutive win the Indian men team continued its winning streak by clinching the title of Fifth Kabaddi World Cup 2014 at a grand finale held at Guru Gobind Singh Multipurpose Stadium at village Badal in Sri Muktsar Sahib district on Saturday. The Indian eves also clinched the title for the fourth consecutive time.


The Indian men team defeated Pakistan for the fourth time while the Indian women team defeated the New Zealand team for the second time in a row.    


During the grand finale held at jam packed newly constructed Guru Gobind Singh Multipurpose Stadium, here, the Indian men team defeated Pakistan by 45-42 and Indian eves defeated the Kiwis by a score of 36-27.


This ultra modern stadium constructed with a cost of Rs 16 crore was inaugurated by Chief Minister Mr Parkash Singh Badal and Deputy CM Mr Sukhbir Singh Badal.


Chief Minister of Punjab Mr Parkash Singh Badal and CM of Haryana Mr Manohar Lal Khattar were the chief guest on the occasion, while Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Mr Sarbananda Sonowal was the guest of honour.


History repeated itself as teams of both men and women section had clashed during the finals of Fourth Kabaddi World Cup 2013 at Ludhiana. And in both the matches, India had emerged victorious.


During the finals of women section, India defeated the Kiwi team by 36-27. The Indian eves started the lead from the beginning and by half time, they were leading by 18-14. For India, raiders Priyanka Devi and Ram Bateri both scored 8 points each and Sukhwinder Kaur scored 7 points, while stoppers Anu Rani secured 4 while Ritu and Jasvir secured one point each. Similarly, for Kiwis, raiders Lani Perese scored 12, Motu Elizabeth scored 9 and Pomare scored 4 points, while stoppers Titu and Tekawa secured one point each points.


During the finals of men section, India defeated Pakistan team by 45-42. For India, raiders Sandeep Singh Surakhpur and Sandeep Luddar scored 16 and 10 points respectively, while stoppers Yadwinder Singh Yada "Surakhpur" secured 5, while Gopi secured 3 points respectively. Similarly, for the Pakistan team, raiders Shafiq Ahmad  Chishti, Mohammad Irfan and Akmal Sajjad Dogar scored 15, 13 and 6 points respectively, while stoppers Musharaff Javed Janjua secured 4 points for his team.


The best raider of women section were Ram Bateri and Priyanka and best stopper of women section was Anu Rani. All of them were awarded with a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh each. New Zealand raider Lani Perese and stopper Tito were also awarded with a special cash prize of Rs 1 lakh each.


The best raider of men section are Sandeep Surakhpur of India and Shafiq Ahmad Chishti of Pakistan and best stopper of men section was Yadwinder Singh Yada "Surakhpur". All of them were awarded with Preet Tractors each.


In this mega event, 11 teams in men section and eight teams in the women section had participated. The 11 teams if men section included India, Pakistan, Argentina, United States of America, England, Canada, Australia, Iran, Denmark, Spain and Sweden whereas in Women section eight teams including that of Azerbaijan, Pakistan, Mexico, New Zealand, United States of America, England, Denmark and India competed.


The winner of men section, India, won itself a prize money of Rs 2 crore and first runners up, Pakistan, Rs 1 crore, while the winner of women section, India, won itself a prize money of Rs 1 crore and first runners up, New Zealand, won Rs 51 lakh.


In men section, the Iran team has stood third and won a prize money of Rs 51 lakh, while in women section, the Pakistan team stood third and won a prize money of Rs 25 lakh. Both these matches were held at Baba Kala Mehar Stadium at Barnala yesterday.


Prominent among those present on the occasion included Rajya Sabha members Mr Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa and Mr Balwinder Singh Bhundar, Lok Sabha member Mr Sher Singh Ghubaya, PWD minister Mr Janmeja Singh Sekhon, Rural Development Minister Mr Sikandar Singh Malooka, Forest and Wildlife minister Mr Chunni Lal Bhagat, Chief Parliamentary Secretary (Sports) Mr Pawan Kumar Tinu, Chairman Punjab Agro Mr Dyal Singh Kolianwali, Advisor to CM (National Affairs and Media) Mr Harcharan Singh Bains, Director Sports Punjab (Pakistan) Mr Usman Anwar, Secretary (Sports) Mr Ashok Kumar Gupta, Special Principal Secretary to CM Mr KJS Cheema, Special Principal Secretary to Deputy CM Mr Manvesh Singh Sidhu, Special Secretary (Sports) Mr Shiv Dular Singh Dhillon and Mrs Amrit Kaur Gill, Director (Sports) Mr Tejinder Singh Dhaliwal, DC Mr Jaskiran Singh, SSP Mr Kuldeep Chahal, besides several others.5th-Kabaddi-World-Cup25th-Kabaddi-World-Cup2-2

Last modified on

Punjabi Site 


YP Videos Gallery

Click Here For More Videos