6:26 pm : 17.Feb.2019
Waheguru Icon

English Site 




English Site 

Paramjit Kaur Landran is new chairperson of Punjab State Women’s Commission

Paramjit-K-LandranChandigarh, January 3 (YP Bureau)

Punjab State Women’s Commission has finally got its chairperson.


SGPC member Paramjit Kaur Landran has been appointed as new chairperson of the Women’s Commission.


It is after a gap of almost a year that the government has notified the statute panel for Commission.  


The two other members appointed on Thursday are Shobha Rana from Nangal and Birpal Kaur Tarmala from Lambi.


The post of chairperson was lying vacant since August 2012.  In fact, the Commission was lying defunct in the absence of the chairperson or any member since then.


The last chairperson, Smt. Gurdev Kaur Sangha of Jalandhar had moved out in December 2011.  


The appointments have been made for a fixed term of three years.  Four members of the commission are yet to be appointed.  


It is pertinent to mention here that the Punjab government had assured Punjab and Haryana High Court in September 2012 that the vacant posts of the Commission chairperson and all the members would be filled within three months.

Punjabi Site 




Punjab & Around

YP Videos Gallery

Click Here For More Videos