10:22 am : 30.May.2016

CT University Design ContestAdvertise On YP FFx300x150

National News

Pranab's swearing-in went like clockwork

pranab mukhrjee Timeline of Pranab Mukherjee's swearing-in as India's 13th president.


11.05 a.m.: Black limousine with Pranab Mukherjee and outgoing president Pratibha Patil leaves for Parliament House in a slow cavalcade, accompanied by the horse-mounted President Bodyguard


11.09 a.m.: The cavalcade passes Raisina Hill and is accorded the Hazar Salaam, or the thousand salute by 1,000 personnel of the three services


11.15 a.m: The cavalcade enters Gate No.5 of Parliament House. Mukherjee and Patil are welcomed by Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and Chief Justice of India S.H. Kapadia


11.18 a.m.: They alight at the steps of Parliament House, which are decorated with floral patterns. Patil stands in front of the others and is accorded the national salute by the President's Bodyguard


11.20 a.m.: They walk slowly down the red carpet to the Central Hall of parliament, with Mukherjee, Meira Kumar, Ansari and the CJI walking in front as Patil walks behind them


11.26 a.m.: Home Secretary R.K. Singh reads out the Election Commission notification on the election of Pranab Mukherjee as president. Everyone applauds


11.28 a.m.: Pranab Mukherjee sworn-in president by CJI. A 21-gun salute is presented as he signs the oath register


11.30 a.m.: The home secretary then seeks Mukherjee's permission to convey the news to all government offices and diplomatic missions


11.31 a.m.: President Pranab Mukherjee delivers his acceptance speech


11.49 a.m.: Ceremony over, the group walks back to the gate of Parliament House. This time, Pranab Mukherjee as president is behind the entire group


11.53 a.m.: Pranab takes his first salute as president on stairs of Parliament House.