1:08 pm : 31.May.2016

PTC Punjabi Awards – Divya Dutta & Jimmy Shergill are the Best Actress, Actor

Jimmy Shergill starrer ‘Mel Karade Rabba’ has been declared the best Punjabi movie of 2010 in the PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2011 function held Friday night at Panchkula. PTC has created history by starting Punjabi Film Awards and this was the first ever Punjabi Film Awards function.

Bollywood actress Divya Dutta bagged Best Actress Award for her role in ‘Sukhmani’ while Jimmy Shergill has bagged the Best Actor award for ‘Mel Karade Rabba’.

Critics Best Actor Award was conferred on Gurdas Mann and Critics Best Actress Award was given to Neeru Bajwa for their roles in ‘Sukhmani’.

Bollywood actors Raza Murad and Satish Kaul were conferred Life Achievement Awards for their contribution to Punjabi Cinema. Punjab Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal and Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda did the honours.

Manjeet Mann wife of Singer, performer and actor Gurdas Mann was awarded with Best Director Award for ‘Sukhmani’.

Jaidev was awarded with Best Music Director Award for ‘Mel Karade Rabba’.

Kailash Kher was given award for being Best Playback singer (Male) for his song ‘Tere Rang Wich’ for the Movie ‘Tere Ishq Nachaya’. Shreya Ghoshal bagged Best Playback singer (Female) award for her song ‘Rabba he Rabba’ for the film ‘Sukhmani’.

Punjabi Singer Miss Pooja got Best Debut Female Actress Award for her debut film Panjaban while Best Debut Male Actor award went to Gaurav Kakkar for Chak Jawana.

Bollywood actor Gulshan Grover was awarded Best Supporting Actor award for his role in ‘Virsa’ while the Best Supporting Actress went to theatre personality Nirmal Rishi for her role in ‘Panjaban’.

Popular comedian Gurpreet Ghuggi was the popular choice for Best Performance in a Comic Role for film ‘Mar Jawan Gur Kha Ke’.

Singer Meeka Starrer Punjabi film Mitti also bagged two awards. Sardar Sohi won an award for ‘Mitti’ as Best Performer in a Negative Role while another award went to the film for Best Background Score rendered by Ajay Bisht.

Renowned lyricist Amardeep Gill was awarded Best Lyricist award for title song of film ‘Ik Kudi Punjab Di’.

Ace Cinematographer and Director Manmohan Singh and Rana Ranbir have shared the award for Best Screenplay and Dialogues for ‘Ik Kudi Punjab Di’.

Krishna Ramanan bagged the award for Best Cinematography for ‘Virsa’.

OmKar Nath Bhakri bagged another award for ‘Sukhmani’ for Best Editing.

Story of Gurdas Mann Starrer ‘Sukhmani’ was found to be best and the award for Best Story was shared by Suraj Sanim and Late Manoj Punj.

The glittering award ceremony had performances by none other than Bollywood Star Akshay Kumar and sultry siren Neha Dhupia.

Gurdas Mann, Divya Dutta, Harbhajan Mann, Kimi Verma, Diljit and others also enthralled the audience with their performances. Hard Kaur was another attraction with her foot tapping numbers.

Those present included Channel Head Rabindra Narain, CEO Raji M Shinde, Om Puri, Preeti Sapru, Anushka Sharma, Singer Malkeet Singh UK, Deep Dhillon, Jaspindr Narula, Satinder Sartaj, Ariyan Babbar, Producer Director Manmohan Singh, Rakesh Bedi, Director Pankaj Batra, Puneet Issar etc.